Adelaide Contemporary Shortlist



Adjaye Associates (London, UK) with BVN (Sydney, Australia) BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group (Copenhagen, Denmark)

with JPE Design Studio (Adelaide, Australia)

David Chipperfield Architects (London, UK)

with SJB Architects (Sydney, Australia)

Diller Scofidio + Renfro (New York, USA) with Woods Bagot (Adelaide, Australia) HASSELL (Melbourne, Australia) with SO-IL (New York, USA) Khai Liew

Read more…

RIBA Gasholder Bases Competition


Winning design © Outpost


This competition was an open, ideas competition with wide participation from Europe.



Outpost Architecture & Design, London



Wilson Owens Owens Architects (WOO), London


Finalists • 318 Studio, London • CF Architects, offices in Kent and Surrey, U.K. • Jan Verhagen and Pricille

Read more…

Taichung Tower Competition


Image: ©Elizabeth de Portzamparc –

This Taichung Tower Competition, won by Elizabeth de Portzamparc, is a second competition for this Taichung Gateway site. A previous competition held for the same project was cancelled, as the City client decided that the winning design by Sou Fujimoto could pose a dangerous risk to visitors. This

Read more…

U.K. Holocaust Memorial Competition

Image © Adjaye Associates and Ron Arad Architects


There were 92 expressions of interest submitted, of which ten firms were invited to submit proposals.


Winner: Adjaye Associates and Ron Arad Architects, London/New York


Honorable Mention Henenghan Peng Architects, Gustafson Porter + Bowman, Bruce Mau Design,and Sven Anderson, Dublin/London/U.S.



Read more…

2017 Burnham Prize Winners

On August 24th, 2017 a distinguished jury of notable professionals, academics, and cultural leaders met to decide the competition winners. In response to this year’s Chicago Architecture Biennial prompting Make New History, the 2017 Burnham Prize Competition: Under the Dome used the historical and typological construct of the dome and called for its critical re-imagination.

Read more…

Finalists in the Kaunas M.K. Čiurlionis Concert Centre International Design Contest announced


UAB Paleko Archstudija and UAB Baltic Engineers; Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios; and Adam Khan Architects announced as the finalists of the Kaunas M.K. Čiurlionis Concert Centre International Design Contest


• 117 teams entered the contest from 36 countries • All concept designs for the Centre were judged anonymously • New M.K.

Read more…

Tallinn City Harbor Masterplan Competition


• Zaha Hadid Architects, London (winner) • Alejandro Zaera-Polo Maider Llaguno Architecture, Spain / Kavakava, Tallinn • Andres Alver, Tallinn

Thamesmead Library Shortlist

Sponsors/organizers: Peabody, Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)


Location: London Borough of Bexley.


The shortlisted teams (in alphabetical order) are:

Adam Khan Architects, UK Architecture 00 Ltd / Studio Weave, UK Bisset Adams Ltd, UK Keith Williams Architects, UK Reiulf Ramstad Arkitekter, Norway


The new library and civic building will lie

Read more…

London Centre for Music Shortlist

Sponsors: Barbican, the London Symphony Orchestra (LSO) and the Guildhall School of Music & Drama

Process: RfQ, shortlist


The need for a new state-of-the-art venue was the result of a study, drawn up by Arup and Arup Associates among others, which said London lacked a venue with ‘brilliance, immediacy, depth, richness and warmth’ and

Read more…

Ross Pavilion Design Competition


Image: © wHY Architecture


Location: Edinburgh, Scotland


Type: RfQ with shortlist of seven (7) teams


Site: The site for the new Pavilion is a nationally-important space, perfectly positioned below Edinburgh Castle and adjoining the city’s most famous shopping street. Currently occupied by the Ross Bandstand, this is a true

Read more…