Chipperfield Prevails in Ottawa


Ottawa Parliamentary Precinct Renewal Competition



Culminating in a year’s long process, the winner of the Ottawa Parliamentary Precinct was David Chipperfield Architects, one of  the six shortlisted firms designated to participate in the competition. An April 10th viewing of the public presentation of the six finalists was viewed by scores on Facebook. From the impressions gained from that event, it was apparent that  Chipperfield and Behnisch were the probable frontrunners. Chipperfield’s presentation emphasized the materiality of their design as a design strategy intended to embrace the architectural context of the precinct. Together with a very straightforward circulation plan, in the end, this had to be a major factor in the jury’s decision. The finalists were:

  • Zeidler Architecture Inc., in association with David Chipperfield Architects
  • Diamond Schmitt Architects, in a joint venture with Bjarke Ingels Group, KWC Architects and ERA Architects
  • Provencher Roy + Associés Architectes Inc.
  • Watson MacEwen Teramura Architects, in a joint venture with Behnisch Architekten
  • WilkinsonEyre, in association with IDEA Inc.
  • NEUF architect(e)s, in a joint venture with the Renzo Piano Building Workshop
Link to Facebook Live presentation: