Detroit DIA Plaza Landscape Competition


Sponsors: Detroit Institute of Arts (DIA) and Midtown Detroit Type: Open, RfQ, three-stage Location: Midtown Detroit Cultural District Eligibility: Licensed Landscape architects/architects, urban designers

Fee: none Compensation and process: At the close of stage 2, three finalists will be selected to submit proposals in stage three. Upon submission, each finalist will receive US$35,000 Timetable:

Read more…

Seoul Education Hub

Seoul Metropolitan Office of Education Headquarter Building


Sponsor: Seoul Metropolitan Office of Education

Type: Open, international, one-stage Eligibility: Participants must be registered architects Project Outline ● Location : 27, Duteopbawi-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul, Korea ● Site Area : 13,214.2㎡ ● Building Area : 39,967㎡ ● Construction Cost (Estimated): $94M ● Design Fee (Estimated): $4.5M

Read more…

Military History Museum

Sponsor: Government of Italy Location: Palau, Sardinia, Italy Facilitator: Young Architects Competitions / Agenzia del Demanio Type: International, open, one-stage Project: Conversion of a fortress to a military museum Languages: English, Italian Timetable: 22 April 2018 – End of Early Bird Registration (€75) 20 May 2018 – Standard Registration deadline (€100) 17 June 2018 –

Read more…

LOI 130 – Real Estate Complex for the European Commission in Brussels


Sponsor: European Commission UIA Type: International, RfQ, two-stage Process: From 30 teams selected to present their ideas in a first phase, 10 teams will be selected to participate in phase two. From the competition phase, three finalist teams will be selected. Language: English

Eligibility: EU member states and non-EU countries having access

Read more…

KFAS New Headquarters for Kuwait

Sponsors: Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences; UIA Type: International, RfQ, two-stage Language: English Fee: none Process: The jury will select not more than 10, but no less than 6 teams from the pre-qualification process Competition management: [phase eins], Berlin, Germany Timetable: 16 April 2018 – Deadline for Expressions of Interest 30 April 2018

Read more…

Gladstone’s Living Heritage – Invited Design Competition


Sponsor: RIBA

Type: Invited

Location: Gladstone’s Library, North Wales, UK

Eligibility: Applications are invited in accordance with the requirements set out in the Briefing information and accompanying Selection Questionnaire, which is available from

Awards: An equal honorarium of GBP £4,000 (+VAT) will be paid to each of shortlisted teams.

Timetable: 10

Read more…

New York State Council for the Arts Project Grants: Applying via Van Alen Institute


Sponsor: New York State Council for the Arts (NYSCA) Facilitator: Van Alen Institute Grants for up to $10,000 Eligibility: Must be residents of New York State Process: After screening, Van Alen will submit up to 20 applications to the NYSCA with its approval Scope of entries: NYSCA’s 2019 program in Architecture + Design will

Read more…

Bay Book House San Francisco


Sponsor: Arquideas Type: International, open, one-stage

Eligibility: Students and young architects

Fees: Early registration: (from January 22, 2018 to March 9, 2018)

50 € individual registration 75 € team registration (from 2 to 4 members) Regular registration: (from March 10, 2018 to April 13, 2018)

75 € individual registration 100 € team registration (from

Read more…

Vienna Canal New Administration Building


Sponsor: Wien Kanal

Type: Open, EU, EUR, one-stage

Eligibility: Licensed architects Language: German Fee: none Timetable: 16 March 2018 – Q&A period ends 19 April 2018 – Submission deadline Awards: yes Process: At the end of the competition process, it is anticipated that the client will negotiate a contract with the winning architect Challenge:

Read more…

Future Campus – University College Dublin International Design Competition


Sponsor: University College Dublin Type: International, RfQ, invited Eligibility: The first stage is a global search for an integrated multidisciplinary design team, based on relevant skills and past experience. Fee: none Compensation: Honorarium for the anticipated five finalists: €40,000 Language: English Timetable: 26 March 2018 – Deadline for RfQ submissions Jury: • Professor Andrew

Read more…