Peace Pentagon Competition

Sponsor: Friends of 339. Project to Save the Peace Pentagon, The Architects Newspaper

Type: open, international,

Language: English

Eligibility: architects, designers, artists, engineers and multi-disciplinary teams worldwide

Registration fee: $50

Late registration fee: $100

1st Prize – $5,000
2nd Prize – $2,000
3rd Prize – to be determined

15 October, 2009 – questions deadline
1 November, 2009 – registration deadline
6 December, 2009 – late registration deadline
9 December, 2009 – submission deadline
21 December, 2009 – awards announced
14 January, 2010 – exhibition opening

Ashok Raiji, mechanical engineer at Arup in New York
Deborah Gans, architect and principal at Studio Gans
DeeDee Haleck, media activist, founder of Paper Tiger Television
Martha Rosler, artist and writer
Michael Sorkin, urban designer and principal at Michael Sorkin Studio
Mimi Hoang, founding principal of N Architects
Nato Thompson, chief curator at Creative time
William Menking, architectural historian, writer and curator of architecture and urbanism

Design Challenge:
The Peace Pentagon Competition is a project for a living community and has been shaped by its need to balance limited resources, values, and priorities. The current condition of the building requires that action must be taken, to protect the value of this asset. This competition is seeking proposals for the building’s future that provide for the needs of its users in a dynamic way. The challenge is to develop a visionary plan that can be accomplished on a limited budget.
This competition requests the competitors to explore one of two alternatives:
1. A new building.
2. A renovation of the existing building.
Submission Requirements:
-Conceptual statement 200 words (maximum) in English, describing the site’s potential and projected use of the building
-Visual documentation to be organized on a single 30”x40” board
-Identification of team members and their roles

For more information, go to: