2018 Steedman Fellowship Competition: Infrastructures


Sponsors: Sam Fox School of Architecture, St. Louis AIA
Type: Open, International, one-stage
Award: $50,000 Travel Fellowship

Language: English
Fee: none
The Steedman Fellowship is open to anyone, anywhere in the world, who has received an accredited degree in architecture within the last eight years. Fellows must be able to complete their proposed projects within 18 months of receiving the award.

Additionally, at the conclusion of their fellowship, Fellows must be available to travel to St. Louis to share their research with the Washington University and local AIA architectural communities. The exact presentation format will be decided between the Fellow and the Governing Committee, but it could take the form of a public lecture, exhibition, or collaborative design workshop.

15 August 2018 – Registration opens
1 November 2018 – Submissions deadline
• Andrea Leers, FAIA, Leers Weinzapfel Architects, Boston (Chair)
• Marion Weiss, FAIA, Weiss Manfredi Architects, New York
• Lisa Iwamoto, Iwamoto Scott Architecture, San Francisco; Professor of Architecture, UC Berkeley

  • Linda C. Samuels, Associate Professor of Urban Design, Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts, Washington University in St. Louis
    • Anna B. F. Ives, AIA
    , Managing Partner, patternhn ives
    Design Challenge
    The Steedman 2018 jury seeks creative research proposals on the design impact and potential for infrastructures to positively contribute to a sustainable urban future.

For more information: