2017 Burnham Prize Winners

On August 24th, 2017 a distinguished jury of notable professionals, academics, and cultural leaders met to decide the competition winners. In response to this year’s Chicago Architecture Biennial prompting Make New History, the 2017 Burnham Prize Competition: Under the Dome used the historical and typological construct of the dome and called for its critical re-imagination.


The jury members included:
Penelope Dean, Associate Professor at UIC’s School of Architecture
Sarah Herda, Director of the Graham Foundation
Sharon Johnston, FAIA, Founder of Johnston Marklee
Brian Lee, FAIA, Design Partner SOM Chicago


NEW WATERS by Sonja Cheng, Jennifer Ly and Max Obata

DUALISM by John David Todd, Kevin Lamyuktseung, and James Martin



The winning entry, honorable mention, and selected entries are on display at the Chicago Cultural Center, Garland Room, 78 E Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602. Michigan Ave.) until October 14th, 2017.