International competition in Architecture 2017: Jacques Rougerie Foundation

Sponsor: Jacques Rougerie Foundation

Eligibility: The competition is free and is destined to architects, engineers, designers, whether they are students or professionals. The candidates are invited to put together multidisciplinary teams for the competition in order to value collective thinking and cross-curricular competences.  

Fee: None

Awards: Every architectural project submitted must fall within one of the two fields: the Sea, guardian of our environmental as well as societal environments, or Space, field of development and technological applications that are unavoidable for the future of our civilisation. This year, the Foundation adds to the grand prix – which are open themed – three more specific themes, called “focus”, to deliver a new, prospective vision, targeting one issue in the medium term or preparing oneself for an ecological and social emergency on one continent.

Innovation and architecture for the sea awards – Louis Vicat:
Grand Prix – €7 500
Focus: The ports of the future – €2 500

Innovation and architecture for space awards:
Grand Prix – €7 500
Focus: Solar power satellites – €2 500

Architecture and sea level rise awards:
Grand Prix – €7 500
Focus: The African coastline – €2 500

Each jury reserves the rights to attribute the Grand Prix to the laureate of the category’s focus award thus attributing him or her both prizes. It is possible to win both the prizes of a category if the project responds to the requirements and shows excellence.

Jury: The Jacques Rougerie Foundation is supported by an international network of multidisciplinary experts in their respective fields: the Sea, Space, and Sea level rise. 

This year, the Foundation is honoured to receive the support from the organisation Afrikarchi to accompany it with the Focus “The African coastline”.

31 May 2017 – Submission phase opening
19 November 2017 – Submission deadline

The Jacques Rougerie Foundation reserves to itself a right to select projects that will appear in its Database (

Design Challenge: Architects, engineers, designers, all of them participate to the development and the construction of an upcoming world at their own level. Together, by looking further, beyond preconceived ideas and well-established concepts, these entrepreneurs, these creators, have the power to make up new rules, propose new directions: innovative facilities and housing bringing new living conditions, making room for new ways of moving, of consuming energy, to counter major environmental challenges of our era and others to come. The prizes of the Jacques Rougerie Foundation support and accompany this approach.  

Innovation, architectural disruption, sustainable development and resilience against climate changes are the keywords of this 7th edition of the international competition in architecture of the Jacques Rougerie Foundation – Institut de France. 

Registration / Project submission: A single website is made available for the candidates: