Axis Civitas Competion Results

Gowanus by Design - Winning Entries

Sponsor: Gowanus by Design

Type: open, ideas


Susannah C. Drake FASLA AIA, Principal, dlandstudio
David J. Lewis AIA, Principal, LTL Architects
Brian McGrath, Dean, School of Constructed Environments, Parsons The New School For Design
Andrea Parker, Executive Director, Gowanus Canal Conservancy
Richard A. Plunz, Professor of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation, Columbia University
Robert M. Rogers FAIA, Partner, Rogers Partners
Claire Weisz FAIA, Principal, WXY architecture + urban design
Adam Yarinsky FAIA LEED AP, Principal, Architecture Research Office


1st Prize

The BK BioReactor

Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects (Matthew Seibert and Ian Quate) / Weill Cornell Medical College (Dr. Elizabeth Henaff)

New York, NY


2nd Prize

Live Ends

Annie Barrett Studio (Annie Barnett, Mariana Mogilevich, Lucas Bucknavage, and Grey Wartinger)
Brooklyn, New York


Honorable Mentions

Zipping The Gowanus – Unity Through Diversity

AnAn (Annette Bohr and Anna Lips)

Zurich, Switzerland


Field Station Of The Industrial Sublime

Team: OP-AL (Jennifer Birkeland, Jonathan A. Scelsa, Erin Wythoff, Will DiBernardo, and Isaac Stein )

Brooklyn, New York


The Gowanus Urban Field Station

Office of Architecture (Aniket Shahane, Ivan Kostic, and Valentin Bansac)

Brooklyn, New York


Who Owns Gowanus?

Pilot Projects Design Collective (Scott Francisco, Zeynep Goksel, Daniel Joo, Andrew Renninger, and Max Scoppettone)

New York, New York


Go Gowanus

Team: Marina Bourderonnet, David Lee, Benjamin Hait, and Kathlyn Kao

New York, New York