Guggenheim Helsinki Design Competition

Sponsor: Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation

Type: Open, International, anonymous, 2-stage

Fee: none

Language: English


15 August 2014 – Deadline for Q&A
10 September 2014 – Deadline for Stage I submissions
Fall 2014 – Shortlist for 2nd Stage announced
November 2014 – Stage II launch
March 2015 – Stage II Submission deadline
June 2015 – Winner announced


Winning entry will receive €100,ooo

Five finalists will receive €50,000 each


• Mark Wigley, Columbia University
• Mikko Aho, Director, Helsinki City Planning Department
• Jeanne Gang, Gang Studio, Chicago
• Juan Herreros, Prof. and Founder, Herreros Studio
• Anssi Lassila, Office for Peripheral Architecture
• Erkki KM Leppävuori, Professor, Technical Research Centre of Finland
• Rainer Mahlamäki, Lahdelma & Mahlamäki Architects
• Helena Säteri, Director of the Environment, Finland
• Nancy Spector, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation Deputy Director
Yoshiharu Tsukamoto, Founder, Atelier Bow-Wow
Ritva Viljanen, Deputy Mayor, City of Helsinki

Process and Judging Criteria

From the Stage One entries, the jury will select six proposals to advance to Stage Two of the competition. These firms or individuals will be given further detailed material and invited to a briefing day in Helsinki. They will be asked to expand on their Stage One design and produce a master plan model. Following submission and assessment of the Stage Two entries, a final interview may be held to determine a winner.

For more information and to enter, go to: