Sibbesborg: Competition for Sustainable Community Development

Sponsor: Municipality of Sipoo
Type: Open International Planning
Location: Finland
Language: English
Fee: Free
Eligibility: Teams with at least one architect
Submission Deadline: September 30, 2011
First prize – 50,000 Euro
Second prize – 40,000 Euro
Third prize – 35,000 Euro
Additional 25,000 Euro in special prizes
Christel Liljestrom, Municipality of Sipoo
Hanna Aho, Municipality of Sipoo
Caspar Berntzen, Municipality of Sipoo
Mikko Aho, Architect, Municipality of Sipoo
Sirkku Huisko, Landscape Architect, Municipality of Sipoo
Aulis Tynkkynen, Senior Architect, Ministry of the Environment
Wulf Daseking, Director of the Freiburg City Planning Office
Patricia McCarney, Founding Director of the Global Cities Program
Marja Sopanen, Architect
Panu Lehtovuori, Architect
Design Challenge:
The competition area is situated in the municipality of Sipoo, around Söderkulla urban district and the Sipoonlahti area. The aim of the competition is to put forward a plan for a community of up to 70,000 – 100,000 residents, with the main emphasis on the centre. In addition to this, the target is to outline the first steps in the extensive implementation process.
Submission Requirements:
Physical submission of up to 6 A1 boards with plan, site plan, detail plan, written description, implementation process, and themed material
For more information, go to: