DawnTown 2009 Competition

Sponsor: John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, the Miami Downtown Development Authority, Marquis, and Akerman Senterfitt

Type: open, 1-stage, international


Eligibility: Architects, designers, students, and amateurs from around the world are invited to participate.

Registration fee: none

1st Prize – $8,000
2nd Prize – $4,000
3rd Prize – $2,000

14 October, 2009 – registration deadline
28 October, 2009 – submission deadline
4 December, 2009 – award ceremony

Terry Riley, director of the Miami Art Museum
Gillian Thomas, president of the Miami Science Museum
Mera Rubell of the Rubell Family Collection
Dennis Scholl, Miami program director of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation
Harpal Kapoor, director of Miami-Dade Transit

Design Challenge:
This year’s competition seeks creative architectural ideas for a new station for the Metromover, Downtown Miami’s elevated public transportation system. The site for this station is located at the north edge of Museum Park, next to Biscayne Bay and between the future home of Miami Art Museum and Miami Science Museum.

Focal point of the area: designs should capitalize on the strategic location of the site among many urban amenities. Entrants are invited to explore the central location of the site by proposing a design that is visible from surrounding areas, a landmark for wayfinding around the station and back to the station. Such a design will draw visitors into the park and signal the presence of a public transportation station to encourage use of the Metromover system.

For more information, go to: http://dawntown.org/competition/