National Pulse Memorial & Museum International Design Competition Shortlist

onePULSE Foundation, the nonprofit established by the owner of Pulse nightclub following the June 12, 2016 tragedy, announced the six renowned, architect-led design teams shortlisted in the open, two-stage international competition to design the National Pulse Memorial & Museum.

The six teams will now advance to the second and final stage of the unique competition, where they will be invited to propose a concept design for the National Pulse Memorial and Museum, which will honor the 49 angels who were killed in the tragedy and also support the families, survivors, and first responders left to pick-up the pieces. Scheduled to open in 2022, the memorial and museum will include the Orlando Health Survivors Walk and will be built on the site of the Pulse nightclub and nearby properties.

The six shortlisted teams (in alphabetical order) are:

• Coldefy & Associés with RDAI, Xavier Veilhan, dUCKS scéno, Agence TER, Prof. Laila Farah
• Diller Scofidio + Renfro and Rene Gonzalez Architects with Raymond Jungles, Inc.
• heneghan peng architects, Gustafson Porter + Bowman, Sven Anderson & Pentagram
• MASS Design Group, Ralph Appelbaum Associates, Sasaki, Sanford Biggers, Richard Blanco, Porsha Olayiwola
• MVRDV, Grant Associates, GSM Project and Studio Drift
• Studio Libeskind with Claude Cormier + Associés, Thinc, and Jenny Holzer

The competition, developed and led by the independent architect selection firm, Dovetail Design Strategists, attracted submissions from 68 teams representing 19 countries. In total, 168 firms and 47 individual artists participated on the 68 submitting teams.

A public exhibition of the shortlisted design team submissions will take place in early October 2019 at the Orange County Regional History Center in Orlando, Florida. This will be accompanied by a digital exhibition of the shortlisted teams’ proposals on the onePULSE design competition website. The public will have an opportunity to share their comments.