Memorials for the Future

Sponsor: Van Alen Institute, National Park Service and National Capital Planning Commission
Location: Washington, DC
Type: open, two-phase, with three finalists
Fee: none
Language: English
Teams are encouraged to signal their intent to submit a proposal by pre-registering via http://future.ncpc. gov with the team lead’s name and contact information by April 18, 2016
4 May 2016 – Phase I submission deadline
Each finalist team will receive a $15,000 stipend + $5,200 travel expenses
• Marcel Acosta, Executive Director, National Capital Planning Commission
• Mark Gardner, Principal, Jaklitsch / Gardner Architects
• David van der Leer, Executive Director, Van Alen Institute
• Thomas Luebke, Commission Secretary, U.S. Commission of Fine Arts
• Jonathan Marvel, Principal and Founder, Marvel Architects
• Julie Rhoad, President & CEO, The NAMES Project Foundation
• Deborah Rutter, President, John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
• Kirk Savage, Professor, History, Art, and Architecture University of Pittsburgh
• Jason Schupbach, Director of Design Programs, National Endowment for the Arts
• Eric Shaw, Director, District of Columbia Office of Planning
• Gay Vietzke, Superintendent, National Mall and Memorial Parks, National Park Service
Design Challenge:
Memorials for the Future is a competition that reimagines the way we think about, feel, and experience memorials. The competition will look at Washington, DC’s traditional approach to permanent commemoration, and then create new ideas for honoring our diverse histories, heritage, and culture.
For information: