Harvard GSD Wheelwright Prize

The Wheelwright Prize, a $100,000 traveling fellowship, is awarded annually to talented early-career architects worldwide proposing exceptional itineraries for research and discovery. With an open application process (deadline February 28, 2013), the Wheelwright Prize recognizes the importance of field research to professional development, and reinforces Harvard GSD’s dedication to fostering investigative approaches to contemporary design.


+ Applicant must have graduated from a professionally accredited architecture degree program in the past 15 years. (Graduates prior to 1998 are ineligible.)

+ Applicants may not have received the Arthur Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship previously.

+ Winners of the Wheelwright Prize may not hold other fellowships concurrently.

+ Winners are expected to spend a minimum of 6 months (cumulative) outside their countries of residence in order to conduct their proposed research. Research and travel must commence within 12 months of receiving the Wheelwright Prize and must be completed within two years of receiving the prize.

+ The Wheelwright Prize is intended for independent study and may not be applied to university fees.

+ Registration for applications closes February 15, 2013.
+ Deadline for submissions is February 28, 2013.

For additional information, go to:


or contact:

Cathy Lang Ho