Wheelwright Prize 2017

31 Jan 2017

31 January 2017 – Submission Deadline

International competition for early-career architects to win $100,000 traveling fellowship,
now accepting applications

Sponsor: Harvard Graduate School of Design (GSD)

Description: The Harvard Graduate School of Design (GSD) is pleased to announce the fifth cycle of the Wheelwright Prize, an open international competition that awards $100,000 annually to a talented early-career architect to support travel-based research. The 2017 Wheelwright Prize is now accepting applications. Deadline for submissions is January 31, 2017. This annual prize is dedicated to fostering new forms of architectural research informed by cross-cultural engagement.

The Wheelwright Prize is open to emerging architects practicing anywhere in the world. The primary eligibility requirement is that applicants must have received a degree from a professionally accredited architecture program in the past 15 years (after 2002). Applicants are asked to submit a portfolio, a research proposal, and a travel itinerary that takes them outside their country of residence. Applicants will be judged on the quality of their design work, scholarly accomplishments, originality and persuasiveness of their research proposal, and evidence of ability to fulfill the proposed project.

An international jury will be announced in January 2017. Standing members of the Wheelwright Prize Organizing Committee include Dean Mostafavi and Professors K. Michael Hays. Applications are accepted online only, at wheelwrightprize.org. Finalists for the 2017 prize will be invited to present at Harvard GSD in April 2017, and a winner will named shortly thereafter.

For more information, go to: http://wheelwrightprize.org/